ABLE Act

Representative Gallegly  –

Thank you for agreeing to co-sponsor the ABLE Act.  It is hard for me to put into words what this law will mean to me! Since the first week Brianna was born, I have always wanted to save for her college education and give her every opportunity that I have had – that is the American dream. While I am realistic in knowing she will have to overcome challenges I never had, I intend on giving her all the tools to contribute to society to her full extent.


 

Beyond giving our family the financial tools, laws like these mean something much deeper. They mean the government is taking an official stance that people like Brianna should be included in society and that our representatives care about people like her and making sure she too is important and allowed to “count”. Having a child like Brianna is a wonderful blessing, but at times society can make us feel like outcasts and make it difficult. That can make families like ours feel isolated. But it is acts of thoughtfulness like this that do just the opposite – people care and that means the world to us!


Attached are some pics from the L.A. Buddy Walk (which raises positive awareness for DS). My wife’s business made us T-shirts to wear(“Lifted Up by Down Syndrome”) and we even met a couple actresses (both play the same character on FX’s American Horror Show – I haven’t seen the show yet, but hope to check it out soon). It was so amazing to meet so many wonderful people in our small community.

 

 

 

Thank you again for your help, and please let me know when Representative Gallegly makes a decision on whether to run for office again. I always vote!


Sincerely,

Brad Pitzele

About liftedupbyds

I am father of a child with Down syndrome on a quest to bring greater positive awareness and greater opportunities to people with Down syndrome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

