On the irony of a generation

If each of us (my daughter and I) were born one generation ago, I might have been cajoled into giving my daughter up to an institution for the better of society.  Just one generation later and I am being cajoled into giving her cookies after nap time…..a girl I couldn’t possible love any more has manipulated me once again.

I read comments on the internet of people speaking of the “economic value” of people with DS, as if economics were the means of valuing a person’s life.  In one generation,the commenters’ children may be saved from the ravages of Alzheimer or cancer because of research into DS.

Happy March people.  Take a breath and look around at the amazing pace of change around you.  Two years ago the iPad 1 was amazing, and today it is utterly obsolete.  Technology is not the only thing that is obsolete quickly in 2012, outdated attitudes are fading quickly.

I am thankful for the generations that came before and have made it so much easier for my family – thank you!  I am thankful that I get to do something so significant in my life as to attempt to make life easier for those that come after me and advance the civil rights of a group of people so deserving.  It is appropriate that the first UN sanctioned WDSD falls on a leap year – a year we celebrate a year that is not “typical”, but has a little something extra.  Please celebrate World Down Syndrome Day with me this month on March 21st.  It is a celebration of how far we have come in even the last generation, and it is a time ti take a breath before we watch the amazing change that will occur right before our eyes over the next generation.

About liftedupbyds

I am father of a child with Down syndrome on a quest to bring greater positive awareness and greater opportunities to people with Down syndrome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the irony of a generation

  1. Nancy Litteken says:

    Lover it! and Thank you for all you do for our community

Leave a Reply

